Monin's "Clean Label"

We have recently received some questions regarding our syrup selection in the Crazy Mocha stores, especially the meaning of “clean label” and whether or not it is vegan, gluten free, or adhering to other dietary restrictions.

We already use Monin products in almost every store, and will soon be transitioning to Monin products in all stores for our syrups and sauces. Monin has recently been moving their product lines to what they refer to as “clean label.” But what exactly does this distinction mean?

According to a representative from Monin, “clean label” simply means that a product contains no artificial ingredients. You could think of it as “natural,” but the specific definition is “no artificial ingredients,” including colors, preservatives, or flavors.

As for other dietary restrictions, are these products vegan? No animal products are used to make the Monin syrups, so yes, they are considered vegan. They are also all gluten-free, halal, and kosher. The only exception would be the syrups with names that reference an alcohol, such as “Grenadine” or “Mojito Mix,” because even though these do not contain any actual alcohol, they would not be considered halal. We do not currently stock these flavors in our stores.

Most of the Monin syrup flavors that we carry in the Crazy Mocha stores meet the clean label standards. Here are the exceptions:

·         Blackberry

·         Cherry

·         Hazelnut

·         Lemon

·         Macadamia Nut

·         Toasted Marshmallow

·         All Sugar-Free syrups

Eventually all of the syrups will be clean label, but as of now they are still transitioning some of the older flavors to this updated production process. We will be happy to provide an update when all Monin syrups are made without any artificial ingredients!

If you’d like to do your own research, you can click here to see which syrups are “clean label” using the advanced search function on the Monin website.